A body set up under Article 280 of the Constitution. Its Primary function is to recommend the measures and methods on how revenues need to be distributed between the Centre and states. The Commission also lays down the principles for giving out grant-in-aid to states and other local bodies.

15th Finance Commission

Chairman Shri N.K. Singh, Member of Parliament and former Secretary to the Government of India
Members Shri Shaktikanta Das, Former Secretary to the Government of India
Dr. Anoop Singh, Adjunct Professor, Georgetown University
Dr. Ashok Lahiri, Chairman (Non-executive, part time), Bandhan Bank
Dr. Ramesh Chand,Member, NITI Aayog
Documents Terms of Reference | more..

14th Finance Commission

Chairman Dr. Y.V.Reddy, former Governor Reserve Bank of India.
Members Sri. Abhijit Sen, Member, Planning Commission
Smt. Sushama Nath, former Union Finance Secretary
Sri. M Govinda Rao, Director of National Institute of Public Finance and Policy
Sri. Sudipto Mundle, former Acting Chairman, National Statistical Commission
Documents Commission Report | Memorandum | Terms of Reference | more..

13th Finance Commission

Chairman Dr. Vijay L Kelkar, former Union Finance SecretaryDr. Vijay L Kelkar, former Union Finance Secretary.
Members Shri B.K Chaturvedi, Member, Planning Commission
Dr. Indira Rajaraman, Professor Emeritus, National Institute of Public Finance & Policy
Dr. Abusaleh Shariff, Chief Economist, National Council of Applied Economic Research
Prof. Atul Sarma, Former Vice-Chancellor, Rajiv Gandhi University
Documents Commission Report | Memorandum - Explanatory Note | Terms of Reference | more..

1 - 12th Finance Commission